Holidays! · Sewing

A Christmas tradition with a twist!

Good morning! I hope you have all had a lovely Christmas! I can’t believe it is already over, doesn’t time fly.

Recently I have begun following some lovely instagramers who are amazingly talented and make their own wardrobes. My particular favourites are Redwsews, who makes an array of different items for both herself and her two daughters but inevitably seems to look amazing in everything and amilliondresses who makes many different varieties of the emery dress in the most wonderful fabrics. (Do have a look at both of their accounts and let me know in the comments if you can recommend anybody else!).

Having followed both for a while I decided that I wanted to try and learn the skill too. I asked amilliondresses to recommend a sewing machine and now have a lovely shiny Janome machine. I also attended a learn to sew course with sewitwithlove in London Waterloo where I made a pillow case, a bag and an a-line skirt. Then life happened and I started a new job became really busy and didn’t have a chance to do much more then stare longingly at my machine….

IMG_2077.jpg

Until I received the most lovely book through the post. ‘Love at first stitch’ by Tilly at TillyandtheButtons, this book is very inspiring for the beginner sewist as it is full of pictures and step by step instructions and the tone used makes the projects sound manageable. Having had a flick through I decided it was time to expand upon a family Christmas tradition. Every year we have always received new pyjamas on Christmas Eve, our ‘Christmas pyjamas’, this year I decided to make mine myself following the Margot pattern in Tilly’s book.

IMG_8209.JPG

I chose a lovely brushed cotton fabric which is really cozy and covered in polar bears and snowflakes, perfect for this time of year. I decided to replace the drawstring with a big red bow for a festive touch. Despite a few issues with tension and a few slightly wonky hems I don’t think they look half bad! Apologies for the ‘I’ve just rolled out of bed’ look… I had…

IMG_8175.jpg

IMG_8159.jpg

IMG_8157.jpgIMG_8160.jpg

IMG_8194.JPG

In the New Year I want to really continue learning to sew as I find it very relaxing and love the feeling of having created something. I’ve booked on to the Sewoverit online Grace class (perhaps a little outside of my ability but I’ll give it a go!!) and I still have the rest of this lovely book to work through. Hopefully you shall see many more sewing posts over the year to come! It’s sort of a new years resolution…

IMG_8201.JPG

5 thoughts on “A Christmas tradition with a twist!

  1. Hurrah! Congratulations on starting your sewing journey with such a fun project! Great choice of machine, too, I love Janomes!
    I’ll be following you to see what you get up to next. 🙂

    Like

  2. Wow, thank you for the hugely complimentary comments! I think these look great, particularly for a first try! It is a great book, one I worked through a lot of about a year ago. Tilly does such clear instructions. I found the Megan dress good too, I think I’ve made 3 now 😄. Good luck with whatever you try next!

    Like

    1. Thank you Rebecca! Its hard to fit around work but something I have wanted to be able to do for such a long time. Thank you for taking a look at my blog and I hope you are having a lovely Christmas period!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

