Photography

A day out with Emily Quinton!

Floating around in the bloggersphere recently have been many New Years photography resolutions, including my own!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Photography has become a passion of mine and I just love capturing moments on film. That said, I know I have a long way to go  A few weeks ago I had the great pleasure of attending a Makelight Level 2 photography workshop with Emily Quinton.  I could not recommend this course enough, it is aimed at taking photos for Instagram and the blogging world and much more targeted then the course I attended previously (please see a review here).

P1090123.JPG

*All photos of me were taken by my Mum from peoniesandposies

IMG_2802

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I attended the course with my Mum who is a keen flower blogger, she has previously attended Emily’s Makelight Level 1 course and taken part in some of the online courses. Emily Quinton is a successful blogger and instagrammer who has spent many years as a photographer. She has an amazing eye for detail and sees beauty in everything. If you haven’t already then I would definitely check out her Instagram for some inspiration! IMG_8577

We set out from my flat in London and took a train from Victoria station to West Dulwich, its quite a quick journey so easy for anybody in London. I took with me both my Canon 1200D and my new Olympus Pen EPL7 (my baby!).

IMG_8588IMG_6462.jpg

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I bought my Olympus with money I was given for my Birthday and Christmas after much umming and ahhing, I originally saw it on MediaMarmalade and thought it looked amazing but when I found out Emily had one, I was sold. I thought that the Makelight course would be a great opportunity to learn to use it and I was right! There were 3 or 4 Olympus Pens in the group showing just how popular this little camera has become.

IMG_6459

IMG_2800

IMG_8589

Emily’s studio is like a dream world. It is full of beautiful and delicate treasures which are perfect adornments to Instagram photos. I particularly fell in love with the beautiful beautiful bike below. I really really want one but I’m too scared to cycle on the roads of London so I just can’t justify it… a girl can dream though!

IMG_8565

IMG_8569

Emily spent the morning giving us top tips for improving our Instagram accounts. I have noticed a real increase in followers since taking her advice. I went from around 118 followers on the day of the course to 225 a mere 3 weeks later (and one of those weeks I was out of the country with extremely limited wifi!!) I think this stat shows just how useful this course was.

After our chat we were let lose in the Makelight studio! Emily came round to give us tips on layout and how to use the camera. She also showed us her new tripod which had a special arm for taking flat lays. Mum has since invested in one of these so I am quite looking forward to having a play when I get home

IMG_8577

In the afternoon Emily took the time to sit down with each of us and talk through our individual Instagram and Blog accounts, giving us tips and tricks. I was really gutted when the day ended! It was all so perfect and such a special day to share with my Mum. I am so so glad I had the opportunity and I really think my Instagram has come on leaps and bounds since the course. (Let me know what you think below!)

IMG_8581.JPG

IMG_8579On the course with me were several really lovely ladies, some of whom have become regulars on my Instagram and I on theirs. I’m going to give a little bit of info about each of them below and do pop over to their accounts and have a browse!

  • thevintagehousethatcould – Katie has a really successful Instagram which is based around her beautiful house and decorating style. She is also an Event Stylist and has recently started selling an Instagram kit called the Vintage Styling Kit, this can be used to make beautiful pictures with a vintage feel.

 

  • live_and_bloom – Sarah has a lovely Instagram which makes me feel calm just looking at it! It is full of neutral colours and follows her life and happy moments.

 

  • wanderforawhile – this follows adventures in London and shows some of the most beautiful areas to visit, every week she seems to increase my list of places I want to go to!

 

  • hellopartyinsta – this is an account for a new business that sells lovely party supplies! This is run by designangel which is one of my favourite accounts. It shows a mixture of photos but the colours are always so much fun!

 

  • eyre_apparent – I LOVE this account! It is a random assortment of photos that just work really well together and are so interesting. (Also we bonded over a mutual love of chickens…)

 

  • lou_weezie1 – Lou is one of the most supportive people on my Instagram! She takes the most lovely landscape photos and has a real eye for beauty!

 

  • xxbirdhouse – Olivia’s Instagram also has a neutral theme like live_and_bloom, her Instagram shows an insight into a wonderful and peaceful life. She uses some really great hashtags and I have found many great Instagrammers through following her. I thought it was very fitting that on the day of the course she Instagrammed a photo of her coffee before we had even made it to the Studio!!!

 

  • everandava1 – Technically helping Emily to run the course rather than a member of the course but I still think this account deserves a mention! This is more of a craft based Instagram and so a little bit different to the other accounts mentioned above.

Last and definitely not least:

  • peoniesandposies – this is my Mums wonderful Instagram account (though its slightly sickening how many more followers she has then me!!), if you like flowers or are getting married soon then definitely have a look at this account. She shows how to grow, cut and arrange your own flowers and has even done a few weddings so lots of inspiration to be had!

Here are some of the pictures I took on the course:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

IMG_2804

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
2 thoughts on “A day out with Emily Quinton!

  1. These photos are lovely. I really want to buy the Olympus pen when I have the money. My photography is terrible, an while I don’t think you need a good camera, it would certainly motivate me to try a bit harder! x

    Like

    1. It’s an amazing little camera, so portable and the majority of my Instagram photos are taken with it and I think come out nicely! It definitely encourages me to get it out and play. I need to do more reading on photography though. Let me know if you get one 🙂 I would really recommend some form of photography course to learn how to use it and about composition etc. Thank you for stopping by!! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

